Licensed in Missouri and Kansas
We're in This Together Trust Our Kansas City Personal Injury Attorneys

5 Things You Must Do When You Are Injured on the Job

Workers' compensation cases are different than personal injury or wrongful death cases. There are specific requirements to make a claim and the compensation structure is different. This list will help ensure that your claim will proceed.

1. Report your injury to your employer in writing within thirty days.

This is a requirement under Missouri law. Failure to do this may result in you not being able to make a claim.

2. Ask your employer to provide you with medical attention or advise you of where you should go for medical help.

If you are hurt, you must seek medical attention. Medical records from such treatment will help substantiate your injuries.

3. Go to the doctor your employer tells you to go to and do everything the doctor tells you.

In Missouri, your employer must pay for your medical treatment when you experience a work-related injury. However, your employer may choose your doctor. If you do not go to the doctor your employer chooses, you may have to pay for your medical care.

4. Take pictures of where you were hurt and write down the names and contact information of any witnesses.

This will help establish that you were hurt on the job.

5. Make sure a workers' compensation claim is filed by your attorney to help protect your employment.

In Missouri, you cannot be fired for filing a workers' compensation claim. If you have been hurt on the job, help protect your employment by filing a claim.

For dedicated representation in filing a workers' compensation claim, contact the firm today to schedule a free consultation with a Kansas City personal injury lawyer who can help.

See Our Settlements
  • $6 Million Medical Malpractice, Confidential Parties
  • $5 Million Car Accident, Rear-End Collision
  • $3 Million Truck Accident
  • $1 Million Truck Accident
  • $1 Million Wrongful Death
  • $500 Thousand Car Accident
  • $395 Thousand Medical Malpractice
  • $360 Thousand Wrongful Death
  • $350 Thousand Medical Malpractice
  • $345 Thousand Automobile Collision
  • $300 Thousand Medical Malpractice, Federal Tort Claim
  • $300 Thousand Wrongful Death
  • $250 Thousand Slip & Fall, City Crosswalk
  • $250 Thousand Third Party Negligence/Homeowners/Dog Leash Injury
  • $225 Thousand Premises Liability, Trip And Fall On Stairs With No Handrail
  • $200 Thousand Car Accident, Rear-End Collision
  • $200 Thousand Car Accident, Rear-End Collision
  • $195 Thousand Car Accident, Ran A Red Light
  • $195 Thousand Medical Malpractice
  • $175 Thousand Gun Shot Wound
  • $147 Thousand Premises Liability
  • $133 Thousand Premises Liability, Trip And Fall
  • $125 Thousand Uninsured Motorist Claim
  • $125 Thousand Uninsured Motorist Claim, Log Through Windshield
  • $125 Thousand Premises Liability
  • $122 Thousand Premises Liability
  • $120 Thousand Trucking Accident
  • $115 Thousand Car Accident, Uninsured Motorist
  • $108 Thousand Premises Liability, Trip & Fall
  • $103 Thousand Car And Pedestrain Accident, Hit And Run
  • $100 Thousand Car And Pedestrain Accident, Hit And Run
  • $100 Thousand Automobile Collision
  • $100 Thousand Car Accident, Policy Limits
  • $100 Thousand Motor Vehicle Accident Claim
  • $100 Thousand Railroad Injury